Recent Race Report

I haven’t blogged about any races recently, mostly because I haven’t had any personal records set recently.  But every performance can’t be my best yet.  So, here’s a quick rundown:

Five Points of Life 5K, 2/23/2008

I did 19:11, 10th place overall, 1st place 30-34.  The full results are online.  Richard Ritari took several pictures: [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6,7,8].

Gate River Run 15K, Jacksonville, FL, 3/8/2008

This race was the 15K championship.  It was a very exciting race.  There were 12,087 finishers, 818 in men in my age group.  The wind was insane that day, there were gusts of up to 30 mph (I heard).  I came in 282nd overall (out of 12,087), and 37th in my age group (out of 818) with a time of 64:22.  Unfortunately, I ran a little injured that day and I had to stop to walk three times.  Since then, I’ve limited my mileage and I finally think I’m recovering properly.  The full results are online. Interestingly, I was the only runner with the last name Boykin. You can see some pictures of me by clicking here.

Trigator 2008 Sprint Triathlon (250 m swim, 8 mile bike, 2 mile run) 3/30/08

This was my first triathlon.  It was fun.  It was the furthest I’d ever swam without stopping, the third time I was on a road bike, and the first time I used clip-in pedals.  My time was 34:02. Triathlons are really different from a running race because of the transitions. Switching from one sport to another is just strange. Your brain switches gears. You have to put on shoes, grab a bike, take of helmets, put on a race number, all sorts of little things. It’s frenetic.

Equal Access Clinic 5K Run, 4/5/2008

This race was unfortunately a bit messed up.  First of all, while in second place, I saw the first place runner directed the wrong way, or so I thought.  When I got to that point, I went the way I thought was correct, but I was not 100% sure.  In any case, I was taking a different course so already the race was messed up.  Later in the race, due to my GPS, I was pretty sure the course was short, and that must have meant I went the wrong way.  Finally, it turned out that I went the right way and the race official had misdirected the lead runner (Julio Palma), but the course was maybe 0.15 miles short.  Since I thought I had messed up, and didn’t want to appear to have cheated, I first would not cross the line.  After talking for a few seconds, I eventually did go through the finish.  Julio Palma deserved to win the race.  I’m sorry if I was a part of any of the confusion.  According to the FTC time, I finished at 18:13 in second place, but the race time is pretty meaningless.  I speant the last quarter mile worried I was cheating and I stopped running about 40 feet short of the finish to explain the problem.  Lastly, even if I had run all the way, the course was short so the time wouldn’t be meaningful.

Leave a Reply

